Excellence in Public Service Extension

The D.W. Brooks Faculty Award for Excellence in Public Service Extension Programs was established in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in 1983 to honor University of Georgia alumnus D.W. Brooks, who devoted his professional life to improving the quality of society through continued service and support of agriculture, agribusiness, and the environment. Mr. Brooks was a graduate and faculty member of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.


The purpose of the Public Service Extension Award is to foster faculty development by recognizing exceptional creativity and sustained excellence in the development and delivery of research based education and service programs. This includes recognizing relevant local issues and concerns, formulating effective strategies and prescriptions aimed to resolve local problems, and integrating and transferring the vast body of public knowledge contained in universities and colleges to customers, empowering them to better solve their individual problems. The intent of the award is to recognize exceptional achievement in informal education, communications, leadership, program planning, administration, and scholarship at the community level.

The impact of the county agent's achievement should be readily measurable and affirmable by industry, the state, the community, and/or national and international peer assessment.

Normally, one Brooks Award shall be given in alternate years (beginning in 1997) for excellence in county agent programming. Beginning in 1996, the recipient shall receive a plaque and a $5,000 cash award from the D. W. Brooks Endowment Fund.


Eligibility for the award shall be limited to current county Extension faculty holding a public service track appointment in the College, who have been employed for at least five (5) years. Past recipients of the award are not eligible for renomination.

Process and Deadline

The Associate Dean for Extension may submit the dossiers of not more than five (5) public service track applicants to the Office of the Dean and Director. The Associate Dean for Extension may develop his/her own procedures for identifying all potentially qualified applicants from across Extension districts. However, such a procedure must include a review of all applicants by a designated peer faculty review committee. The nomination must be endorsed and forwarded to the Dean and Director by the Associate Dean for Extension or designated representative.

All nominations should be received by the deadline of July 20.

All nominations should be forwarded electronically to caesdean@uga.edu in PDF format.

The dossiers should include the D.W. Brooks Faculty Award for Excellence Nomination Form, a written statement addressing the nominee's worthiness for consideration (not to exceed three double spaced pages), a résumé, and an appendix of supporting documentation. The appendix will typically include supporting letters from industry, state or community leaders, government officials, or professional peers of national or international stature. The nomination packet should not exceed 25 pages.

The Brooks Award Review Committee will review all dossiers and recommend to the Chair of the Executive Committee the recipient for the annual award. The Chair of the Executive Committee will forward the name of the nominee to the Dean and Director. Only the Dean and Director shall make public the name of the recipient.

Candidates who were not chosen for the award are welcome to update their packets and submit for the following year.

Award Review Committee

The Dean and Director shall appoint annually a review committee of public service faculty, to include the previous year's recipient of the Public Service Extension Award, to screen all dossiers and make recommendations to the Executive Committee. All votes shall be by secret ballot, and shall be recorded and maintained by the Executive Committee.


The award will be presented at the D.W. Brooks Lecture and Awards ceremony. Information about award recipients will be archived on the CAES website.